Ajay Kohli

Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair, Regents Professor

Role: Economist

Site: CDL-Atlanta

Stream: Commerce

Ajay K. Kohli is the Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair, and Professor of Marketing at the Scheller College of Business, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Professor Kohli is a former Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Marketing. His research focuses on market orientation, customer solutions, market signaling, sales management, B2B marketing and brand management.

He is among the 100 most cited authors in the fields of Business and Economics combined in a decade, and two of his articles are among the 10 most cited Journal of Marketing articles in a quarter century.

Dr. Kohli received the 2017 AMA/McGraw-Hill/Irwin award, and the Paul D. Converse award (termed “Marketing Hall of Fame” by Fortune) in 2016. He has received three honorary doctorates—from BI Norwegian Business School, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland and Corvinus University of Budapest. He is a recipient of IIM Calcutta’s Distinguished Alumnus Award 2017. He is an AMA Fellow, EMAC Fellow, and ISBM Fellow. Dr. Kohli has received several best-paper awards: He is a two-time recipient of the Sheth Foundation / Journal of Marketing award, and recipient of the Alpha Kappa Psi award, the ISBM-David T. Wilson-Sheth Foundation award, and the Sheth award.

He has taught at Emory University, Harvard Business School and The University of Texas at Austin. He has also taught at the BI Norwegian Business School, HSN, Norway, University of Muenster, Germany, Singapore Management University, SDA Bocconi, Italy, and WHU, Germany. He has led numerous executive education seminars in the U.S., Europe, Asia, and Latin America.

Dr. Kohli has worked as a Sales Executive for the Tata Group and HMM (now GSK) and as a Partner in the Monitor Group (now Monitor Deloitte) ). He has consulted with several companies including 3M, Accenture, Andersen, Coca-Cola, Dow Chemical, Eastman Kodak, The Forum Corporation, Halliburton, IBM, Shell, Texas Instruments, and the World Bank.