Cynthia Lavoie

President & CIO, CCRM Enterprises

Role: Associate

Sites: CDL-Oxford, CDL-Toronto, CDL-Vancouver, CDL-Wisconsin

Stream: Advanced Therapies

Cynthia Lavoie is currently President and Chief Investment Officer of CCRM Enterprises Ltd., responsible for the investment portfolio. Cynthia is also a Managing Director of AllosteRx Capital, an early-stage venture capital firm she co-founded in 2018. Cynthia is currently co-founder and board director of Delta TpX, an immune-oncology spin-off from UT Austin, board director at Fibrocor Therapeutics, a fibrosis company in Toronto, and as well a board director at Morphocell Technologies, a cell therapy company in Montreal.

As a seasoned investment professional with 18 years in venture capital, Cynthia has successfully sourced investments, secured financings, negotiated terms, and provided leadership through partnerships, public listings and M&A. Her expertise includes creating companies de novo and leading investments into companies developing therapeutics, medical devices and diagnostic tools. Cynthia has taken active roles on boards of companies located in Canada and the US from start-up to revenue-generating stages. These include Acer Therapeutics (NASDAQ: ACER), Cytochroma (acquired by OPKO Health), VisualSonics (acquired by SonoSite, now FujiFilm SonoSite), and Trillium Therapeutics (acquired by Pfizer).

Prior to co-founding AllosteRx, Cynthia was a General Partner with TVM Capital, a global fund with main offices in Munich and Montreal, where she co-led the creation of a novel fund model that included a strategic collaboration with Eli Lilly. Cynthia was recruited to TVM from VG Partners where she was partner and co-head of the life sciences fund. Cynthia is an accomplished academic with a strong scientific background having spent an additional 10 years in R&D in research institutes and life science firms.

Cynthia earned her MBA with first class honors from Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto and earned her PhD in Molecular Biology with Dean’s honors from McGill University.